Goodmorning, miss!

high_school_class_room_retouch-sized

These mornings I’m experiencing something completely new, for me: I’m reading books in classes from 6th to 8th grades, at school. It’s incredibly funny! Can you believe that? The best moment is when you enter the room and they don’t know you yet. They look at you, they smile ironically and try to understand if they can laugh at you or listen to you and trust you. And then, the miracle: they suddenly feel at their ease ‘cause you’re acting as if you were a student just like them. You’re sitting among them, you’re reading Fred Uhlman, you’re answering their questions and they’re answering yours. You speak all together about friendship, love, hate, future. You’re having fun and they’re having fun. THIS is the secret. And it’s something I’ve never thought it would suit me, and instead… here we are. Yesterday a young, redhead boy from 6th class, sitting just in front of me, has asked me: “Have you a boyfriend? I’m asking you that because my cousin’s boyfriend has dumped her because of her writing”. And I’ve answered “I’ll pick a writer: problem solved”, which could actually be true.

The youngest students are smart, funny and incredibly curious about life, love and… books, too. They want to know how much money you’re earning, in what does your editor’s job consist, why have you suddenly started writing down everything which passed through your mind. A girl has asked me where do I find inspiration, and I’ve said: “Everything that surrounds you IS part of the inspirational process. YOU yourself, while you’re sitting there asking me questions, are part of my inspirational process”, and it’s extremely true.

My parents have been working as primary school teachers for years and years. The main part of my life has been characterized by “schoolish” conversations. And I can remember the infinite times I’ve said “I’ll never become a teacher”. I’m not so sure about it anymore.

Rispondi

